Are you planning to cultivate industrial hemp in the USA? Do you wonder how you can grow it in your area? Well, if you are here, it is safe to assume that your answer to either of the questions is yes. With the passing of the Farm Bill in 2018 , the US government has revolutionized the hemp market. It allows American farmers to cultivate hemp, provided it contains less than 0.3% THC. The passing of this law has led to a sudden increase in the popularity of hemp as a crop. But, you might need to get a license before you start growing. If you are wondering if and how you can get a license to grow hemp, read on.
How to get a license for growing hemp
The rules for obtaining a hemp license vary widely among countries and even states. For instance, the rules for obtaining a license in Canada are different from that of the US. Because of the easy growing kits available at stores like A Pot for Pot today, one can easily grow them for recreational or commercial purposes.
Here is how you can apply for a hemp license in some US states:
The Arizona Hemp Program started offering licenses to grow hemp to 200 state residents for those intending to grow it as a crop. You can visit the website of the Arizona Department of Agriculture to apply for a license. They charge a fee of $5,000 for a license that is valid for a year and can be renewed by paying a fee of $1,000.
The Arkansas State Plant Board is responsible for giving permits to grow hemp in the state. It is only offering the license to big corporations as of now, but the future looks promising for regular farmers as well. For all of your hemp needs, High Supplies is arguably the safest company one can trust.
From April 2019, the California Department of Food and Agriculture has issued licenses to farmers for cultivating industrial hemp. The local county, however, has the authority to review and approve applications. People in California are becoming aware of the benefits it offers for skin, heart, brain, and overall health, and the number of license seekers is also increasing.
Colorado was a pioneer state that launched a pilot program in 2014 by planting 1,800 acres of hemp. The area covered by hemp farming is now over 3,000 acres. You can obtain a license by applying to the Colorado Department of Agriculture. The fee is $4,000.
The Florida government is still working on a pilot program that will involve two universities of the state. They are establishing a license approval process that will enable the Florida Department of Agriculture to issue a license for growing hemp.
If you are planning to cultivate hemp in Hawaii, you can apply to the Hawaii State Department of Agriculture for a license. Once you get the license, you can get seeds and start growing. There are no restrictions on processing, manufacturing, and even the sale of hemp and hemp-derived Cannabis in Hawaii. Alternatively, one can order weed online and reap all benefits.
In 2019, Illinois passed an Industrial Hemp Act that allows farmers to get a state license for cultivation. You can go to the website of the Illinois Department of Agriculture and pay a fee of $100 with the application. Once you get the approval, you can pay the license fee of $1,000 which is valid for 3 years.
Kentucky is known for producing the maximum amount of hemp all over the state. In 2019, the state government issued over 1,000 permits to cultivate an area of 42,000 acres. The farmers can obtain a license from the Kentucky Department of Agriculture. Their officials screen the application thoroughly and may also inspect the farm.
If you are planning to grow hemp in Maryland, you can get a license from the Maryland Department of Agriculture. Although it is still a pilot project in the state, the authorities have stringent eligibility criteria.
For farmers to legally cultivate hemp in the state, they need to get a license from the Nevada Department of Agriculture. The officials are still laying down the regulations for producing and selling hemp in Nevada.
11. New York:
The state of New York is issuing permits to hemp farmers under a pilot program. The New York Department of Agriculture and Markets have an online form that you can fill to participate in the pilot program.
The Virginia Industrial Hemp Law removed the restriction that hemp could only be cultivated for research and paved the way for farmers to grow hemp. You can complete the Industrial Hemp Grower Registration form on the official website of Virginia’s government, paying an application fee of $50.
According to the Farm Bill of 2014, Washington at the time was carrying out a pilot program for hemp farmers. But, in 2018, with the passing of the bill, hemp is now a legal crop. You can obtain the permit from the Washington Department of Agriculture after paying an application fee of $250.
Wisconsin was also running a pilot program based on the Federal Law of 2014. But since 2018, the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection of Wisconsin is issuing licenses for growing and processing hemp.
Hemp has been in the grey area for over a century. The passing of the Farm Bill in 2018 has opened the path for farmers to start reaping the benefits. If you are planning to grow hemp, now is the time. Check the rules and regulations for your state, apply for a license, and get your hands green.
This is a guest post by Rebecca S. This post has been edited for syntax and grammar. The Law offices of Jay Leiderman is not responsible for the accuracy of the content herein or any opinions or ideas expressed herein. This post is for entertainment and literary value and is not intended as legal advice. This post does not establish an attorney-client relationship of any sort. If you have legal questions about ideas presented herein please contact a lawyer knowledgeable in this field of practice.