In California, vehicular manslaughter is defined in California’s Penal Code 192(c) to include causing the death of another person while driving a vehicle. If you are accused of committing vehicular manslaughter while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, then you could be charged with gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated under Penal Code 191.5(a) or vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated under Penal Code 191.5(b).
The penalties for vehicular manslaughter are enhanced if you are also accused of leaving the scene of the crash after the accident.
Attorney for Vehicular Manslaughter Crimes in Ventura, CA
If you were charged with any type of vehicular manslaughter while intoxication or through gross negligence, then contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at Jay Leiderman Law.
Act quickly to secure an experienced criminal defense attorney for the earliest stages of the case. Jay Liederman can help you mount an aggressive defense at every stage of the case.
Call (805) 654-0200.
Bail Schedule for Vehicular Manslaughter in Ventura County, CA
According to the 2019 Bail Schedule, the presumptive bail amount for vehicular manslaughter cases are listed as follows:
- Section 191.5 – GROSS VEHICULAR MANSLAUGHTER WHILE INTOXICATED – $50,000
- Section 191.5(b) – MANSLAUGHTER – VEHICULAR – DRIVING UNDER INFLUENCE – WITHOUT GROSS NEGLIGENCE – $50,000
- Section 191.5(d) – GROSS VEHICULAR MANSLAUGHTER WHILE INTOXICATED WITH PRIOR – $250,000.
- Section 192(b) – MANSLAUGHTER – INVOLUNTARY – $50,000
- Section 192(c)(1) – MANSLAUGHTER – VEHICLE WITH GROSS NEGLIGENCE – $50,000
- Section 192(c)(3) – MANSLAUGHTER – VEHICULAR CAUSED FOR FINANCIAL GAIN – $50,000
- Section 192.5(e) – MANSLAUGHTER – VEHICULAR INVOLVING VESSEL or boat -$50,000
The court might also impose a VEHICLE CODE ENHANCEMENT under Section 20001(c) for FLEEING THE SCENE OF THE CRIME AFTER COMMISSION OF VEHICULAR MANSLAUGHTER in the amount of $50,000.