Hit and Run
If you are involved in a traffic crash, you should ALWAYS remain at the scene until you have met your legal requirements to provide your information or render assistance to anyone injured in the crash. If you left the scene, then a criminal investigation has begun.
Local law enforcement agencies have officers with special training to investigation hit and run cases, even if no one was injured. If you left the scene of a crash after an accident, you also need a criminal defense attorney focused on these types of cases to help you at every stage.
A conviction for hit and run will result in the DMV adding two points on your driving record. The hit and run will stay on your driving record for ten (10) years from the violation date.
Attorney for Hit and Run Crimes in Ventura County, CA
If you leave the scene of a crash, then contact an experienced criminal defense attorney to assist you during the hit and run investigation.
We can help you invoke your right to remain silent so that law enforcement officers do not come to your home or work to interrogate you about the case.
We can also help you deal with the insurance company to pay your claim or the claim of anyone else involved in the crash who suffered personal injury or property damage. Making a false statement to your insurance company can result in additional charges, so contact an attorney about what to do next.
Our goal is making sure your rights are protect. Call (805) 654-0200.
Bail for Different Types of Hit and Run Crimes
According to the misdemeanor bail schedule for Section 20002(A) crimes of HIT AND RUN, the bail amount is $5,000.
The presumptive bail amount for felony crimes of hit and run (leaving the scene of a traffic crash or accident) are listed as follows:
- Section 20001 – HIT/RUN – INJURY has a presumptive bail amount of $50,000
- Section 20001 – HIT/RUN – DEATH has a presumptive bail amount of $100,000
The court might also impose a VEHICLE CODE ENHANCEMENT under Section 20001(c) for FLEEING THE SCENE OF THE CRIME AFTER COMMISSION OF VEHICULAR MANSLAUGHTER in the amount of $50,000.
DL Points for Hit and Run in California
If you are involved in a vehicle collision, then you should stop and remain at the scene until your reporting requirements are satisfied and you help anyone injured in the crash. If you leave the scene of the crash before complying with your legal duties, then you might be charged with the crime of “hit and run.”
If you are convicted of hit-and-run, then you will receive two points on your record. Convictions for hit and run remain on your record for 10 years from the violation date. The DMV will revoke your driver’s license if you are convicted of a hit-and-run or reckless driving that resulted in injury.
Reporting the Collision to the California Highway Patrol (CHP)
In some cases, you might be required to report the collision to the police or California Highway Patrol (CHP). Additionally, you must provide your driver license, vehicle registration card, evidence of financial responsibility, and current address to the other driver or persons involved, or to any law enforcement officer investigating the crash. Evidence of financial responsibility is usually an insurance company name and a policy number.
If no one is injured or killed in the crash, then you should move your vehicle off the street or highway. The failure to move your vehicle, then any any peace officer or authorized personnel may have your vehicle removed and impounded as provided in CVC §§22651 and 22651.05.
If you crash into unattended property like a parked vehicle or mail box, then try and locate the owner of the property. If you can’t find the owner of the property then leave a note with your name and address (and name and address of the owner of the vehicle you are driving) in the vehicle or securely attached to it.
Then report the collision to the police or, in unincorporated areas, to CHP. The crash must be reported in writing to the police or CHP immediately if anyone is killed or injured and law enforcement was not present at the scene.
If there is more than $1,000 in damage to the property of any person, or anyone is injured (no matter how slightly) or killed, then you are required to report the crash by completing a Report of Traffic Accident Occurring in California (SR 1) form to DMV within 10 days.