The District Attorney’s Office in Ventura County has a stated policy of not offering plea bargains. As a result, prosecutors do not reduce a DUI to a “wet reckless.” They will, however, dismiss a case if a strong defense is offered.
Over the last 10 years, the Ventura County District Attorney’s Office has prosecuted an average of more than 4,800 DUI cases each year.
With grant money from the Office of Traffic Safety, two seasoned prosecutors handle all of the driving under the influence of drugs and felony driving under the influence of alcohol cases in Ventura County, CA.
Felony DUI cases include a 4th DUI within a 10 year period, driving under the influence of alcohol resulting in injury and alcohol-related vehicular manslaughter or murder cases.
Attorney for DUI in Ventura, CA
If you were charged with a felony or misdemeanor charge for DUI, then contact an attorney at Jay Leiderman Law. For a first DUI, or a second or subsequent offense, the stakes are high, but we have the skill and knowledge needed to put you in the best position to secure a satisfactory resolution. Jay Leiderman Law works with clients in Ventura and all nine of the other cities in Ventura County – Camarillo, Fillmore, Moorpark, Ojai, Oxnard, Port Hueneme, Santa Paula, Simi Valley, and Thousand Oaks.
After a DUI arrest in Ventura County, CA, you essentially have two cases pending against you. The first case is with the DMV to protect your driving privileges from the administrative suspension or revocation. The second case is prosecuted in the court system as you fight to avoid a DUI conviction. We can assist in tackling both the criminal case and the DMV issues.
Whether you submitted to a breath test, blood test, or refused testing, Jay Leiderman can help you protect your driving privileges and criminal record. Call (805) 654-0200 now for a free consultation.
Overview of DUI Law in Ventura, CA
- The 10 Day Rule to Protect your Driving Privileges
- Bail Schedule for Misdemeanor DUI Crimes in Ventura, CA
- Bail Schedule for Felony DUI Crimes in Ventura, CA
- Additional Resources
The 10 Day Rule to Protect your Driving Privileges
After a DUI arrest in California, the arresting officer is required to forward to the DMV a copy of the sworn police report, the completed notice of suspension or revocation form, and any driver’s license taken from the driver.
The DMV in California will then conduct an administrative review by examining the officer’s report, the suspension or revocation order, and any test results. You can also participate with an attorney and present evidence including expert witnesses on your own behalf.
You only have 10 days to request a hearing from the DMV after receipt of the suspension or revocation order. An experienced DUI defense attorney can help you contest the DUI suspension or revocation. Sometimes it can take you hours on the phone to get through to DMV and request a stay on your suspension and a hearing. Attorneys have a dedicated line and can set the hearing for you. Your temporary license will remain valid until at least through the outcome of the hearing.
Bail Schedule for Misdemeanor DUI Crimes in Ventura, CA
The misdemeanor bail schedule for misdemeanor DUI crimes include the following presumptive amounts:
- Section 14601.2 – DRIVING WHILE LICENSE SUSPENDED OR REVOKED (DWLSR) FOR DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE (DUI) – $5,000
- Section 23152(a) – DUI – ALCOHOL AND/OR DRUGS – $5,000
- Section 23152(b) – DUI – ALCOHOL/DRUGS BLOOD OVER .08% – $5,000
- Section 23152(c) – DUI – ALCOHOL/DRUGS – $5,000
- Section 23152(d) – DUI – COMMERCIAL DRIVER W/BAC .04% – $5,000
Bail Schedule for Felony DUI Crimes in Ventura, CA
According to the 2019 Bail Schedule, the presumptive bail amount for felony DUI crimes are listed as follows:
- Section 23153(a) – DUI – CAUSING INJURY OR DEATH – $50,000
- Section 23153(b) – DUI – CAUSING INJURY OR DEATH – $50,000
- Section 23153(d) – DUI – COMMERCIAL DRIVER CAUSING INJURY OR DEATH WITH A BAC OF .04% OR MORE – $50,000
- Section 23153(e) – DUI – ALCOHOL OR DRUGS CAUSING INJURY – $50,000
- Section 23153(f) – DUI – ALCOHOL OR DRUGS CAUSING INJURY – $50,000
- Section 23550 – DUI – WITH THREE PRIOR OFFENSES WITHIN SEVEN YEARS – $50,000
- Section 23550.5 – DUI – WITH PRIOR FELONY DUI WITHIN 10 YEARS – $50,000
- Section 23566(a) – DUI – CAUSING GREAT BODILY INJURY, THIRD/SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE WITHIN SEVEN YEARS – $100,000
- Section 23566(b) – DUI – CAUSING GREAT BODILY INJURY, FOURTH/SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE WITHIN SEVEN YEARS – $100,000
Felony DUI Cases Prosecuted by the Venture DA’s Office – Visit the website of the District Attorney’s Office in Ventura County, CA, to find out more about how cases for DUI are prosecuted after an arrest for DUI on the streets and highways.